Technology

Christianity, Technology

Just a warning. This post may not be relevant to you at all. In fact, it is quite possible that this relates to nobody but me. And I guess that’s ok.

Just as a disclaimer: I really like technology. I am a computer person, I enjoy making computer programs, designing web sites, and I really like Apple. I know some people really hate them, but I really like them.

Now that that is out of the way, I have to say this. Technology, like anything else, can become an idol if we let it. It is really easy for it to become this, because, they are always coming out with a new tablet PC, or a new iPhone, or a thinner laptop, or a faster processor. These are all fine and good, but because they are making new ones almost every year, it is easy to start making it your idol. Apple is well known for introducing a new line of most of their products every year. This makes them an easy idol, because they always have something new to offer to you that you really want.

I guess what I’m really trying to say by all this, is this: It seems that technology is a big idol in today’s society. I could be wrong. Maybe it’s just that it has been my idol, and I’m just now realizing it. It is okay to follow technology and be excited about the advances made, but do not make it the thing that you always think about, talk about, or dream about.

Is it okay to think about technology? Absolutely. Is it okay to talk about it? For sure. Just make sure that it doesn’t replace God as the thing on the top of your priority list. In fact, don’t even make a priority list. Let God make it for you, and then ask Him to make you willing to follow it.

3 thoughts on “Technology

  1. The last part of the post made me smile: “In fact, don’t even make a priority list. Let God make it for you, and then ask Him to make you willing to follow it.” Never thought about it like that before… but it’s quite true. Me making a priority list assumes that I have enough wisdom to determine the relative order of importance of things – when there’s only One who has that wisdom.

  2. Intentionally making God Himself your 1st love and “priority”, will in itself put all these things in their proper perspective.
    May God keep you.

Add Something. I Love Comments.

