New Year 2011

Christianity

You have probably read just about everybody’s opinions on this new year, and heard everyone wish you a happy new year, so you probably are thinking that reading yet another person’s thoughts on 2011 is the last thing you want to do. Well, in that case you can just move on to other things.

For the rest of you, I have this to say. Many people make ‘New Year’s Resolutions’ around this time, and they usually end up looking something like ‘I’m going to read my Bible more’ or ‘I’m going to try to reach more people for Christ’ or something of that nature. Not that reading your Bible, or evangelism is bad, for indeed they are not, but the idea that I can do it of my own, is folly.

For the new year this year, I encourage you to pray to God and ask him to make you into a model of Christ for the world to see. Ask Him to give you grace that you don’t deserve, because Christ has paid for your sin. Ask Him to change your desires and longings to be only for him. It could be the best year of your life.  God loves to work in the hearts of His children, and He enjoys your adoration of Him, and the total astonishment from you when you realize how He has orchestrated events perfectly: in a completely better way than you could have imagined.

As you go about making New Year’s resolutions, I would like you to remember these verses.

“For that ye ought to say, If the Lord will, we shall live, and do this, or that.” – James 4:15.

“Boast not thyself of to morrow; for thou knowest not what a day may bring forth.” – Proverbs 27:1

2 thoughts on “New Year 2011

  1. Thank you for that.
    I will take to heart what you said.
    May the Lord Jesus be formed in me more this year than ever!

    I love you David.
    Mom

  2. okay, so I just have to say that I love this:
    “He enjoys your adoration of Him, and the total astonishment from you when you realize how He has orchestrated events perfectly: in a completely better way than you could have imagined.”

Add Something. I Love Comments.

