Thinking On The Roof

Christianity, Life

As I was on top of the roof of my house painting, I found my mind wandering to Matthew 22:15-22. I hadn’t read it recently, nor had I been in discussion about it, but it popped into my head. Anyways, I started thinking about this scenario. Jesus asks to see the money that they would pay tribute with (after they initiate the conversation hoping to catch Jesus in a political issue) They show it to him, and he asks them about whose image is on the coin. They reply, “Caesar’s.” Then Jesus said, “Render therefore unto Caesar the things which are Caesar’s; and unto God the things that are God’s.” (render in this use means to “give back”)

Jesus is making a direct correlation in this passage. The things that have Caesar’s image on them, should be rendered to Caesar. The things that have God’s image should be rendered to God. What is it that has God’s image? Look at Genesis 1:26-27. It says as plain as day that God created man in his own image. Therefore, Jesus is saying that we should give ourselves back to God because we bear his image. It is our reasonable service; Rom 12:1.

One thought on “Thinking On The Roof

  1. Most excellent thought, my brother. Man – made in the image of God – is to be given unto God. God the Father gave a people to Jesus who will present them to the Father as a trophy of grace on the day of judgment.

Add Something. I Love Comments.

