A Look Back

Life

Taking a moment to look back often means that you will be thinking about what happened in the past. And while I’m going to be doing that, the phrase carries another meaning as it pertains to this story.

I was at work one day, and I was scheduled to be off at 9 pm. Because business was slow, I was given permission to leave early, (8:20). On my way home I was approaching a stoplight, and there was a car in the left turn lane, waiting for his light to turn green. His light didn’t turn green for a bit, and so as I came up to the stoplight, he made a u-turn without his light having changed. I was making a right turn, and as I did so I looked in my rear-view mirror (the look back) to see if the light for the other fellow had turned green or not (I was curious if the light would still trigger). Before I knew it, my car came to a jolting stop, and I had a windshield full of car.

Running into a parked car is not a grand story or anything, but it’s what happened. The man who owned the other car was not very happy with me, to put it mildly. He called the police who came withing 2 minutes, and I gave him my insurance information etc.

My car was barely drivable (you couldn’t turn the steering wheel, and transmission fluid was dripping everywhere). So we called a tow truck, and he pulled the cars apart to the eerie tune of crunching metal. He towed my car away, and put it in our driveway where it sat for the next two days. Then the Insurance Company took it to the body shop, it was totaled, and they wrote us a check for coverage.

I still haven’t heard how the other car has fared, although it sounded as if it was going to be undrivable as well. We’ll see how that turns out.

Anyways, that has been my last week. Hope yours has been better!

2 thoughts on “A Look Back

Add Something. I Love Comments.

